CHAPELLE SAINT LOUIS DITE CHAPELLE DES MECANICIENS
The St. Louis chapel is part of the naval training center at Saint-Mandrier-sur-Mer. It stands halfway up the Cépet hill and is listed on the Inventaire Supplémentaire des Monuments Historiques.

Former chapel of St Mandrier naval hospital. When in 1937, the hospital was replaced by the Naval Mechanics school it was called “the Mecanics Chapel”.
The chapel of St. Louis stands halfway up the hillside of Cépet and is listed in the Inventaire Supplémentaire des Monuments Historiques. Formerly the chapel of the St Mandrier maritime hospital founded in 1670, it was built shortly before 1830 when the hospital was enlarged.
It takes the form of a rotunda encircled by an outer gallery of 24 columns and topped by a glass dome. Inside, the dome, decorated with caissons, falls on a gallery supported by 16 columns. Beautiful marble floor tiles.
When, in 1937, the hospital was replaced by the Naval Mechanics' School, the chapel was nicknamed the "Mechanics' Chapel".
Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)
Admission only on registration during Heritage Days.
Theme
- Chapel
- Religious heritage
Photo gallery
Spoken languages
- French
Prices
Free of charge. Admission only on registration during Heritage Days.
-
Display phone number